Loon Valley Update

by

I was lucky enough to attend meetings at Loon Mountain this week. When in Lincoln I almost always stay at South Mountain Resort. I enjoy the pleasure of parking my car and being able to walk from my room to the Village Shops, Fratello’s and Texas Toast. For the few times I dine someplace other than Fratello’s I usually walk over to the Common Man or Gypsy Cafe. Both are good and I really like the Gypsy’s margeritas. Pollard Brook is a great resort but I don’t need a large condo when up on business and I like being in town.

The foliage is at 30% right now with some trees turning red. Each morning I walk along the bike path to Loon and back down through the new South Mountain Village homes. There are some spectacular homes being built there.

Loon is opening two new trails to the new South Mountain base. One will be a double diamond that one ski area employee told me will be Very Steep. Sounds like fun! Cannon Mtn just received several great rankings from Ski Magazine. They really are working hard to make Cannon more than its’ reputation for a cold and hard mountain. Click here to see the full report .

It looks like we’ll have a Cannon shuttle in place this year. For the first year the shuttle will run just once a day from both Pollard Brook and South Mountain. It will initially run on week ends and holidays. The bus will hold up to 30 people. It will be a great way to see and ski Cannon. We are also about to announce a ski rental program with Loon. It will make renting skis at Loon much easier and a little more affordable.

Leave a Reply

